July 2, 2020

Imran Perretta wins Turner Prize 2020 Bursary

He receives the award along with Arika, Liz Johnson Artur, Oreet Ashery, Shawanda Corbett, Jamie Crewe, Sean Edwards, Sidsel Meineche Hansen, Ima-Abasi Okon and Alberta Whittle.

In response to the pandemic, Tate Britain announced last month that it would not be possible to stage a Turner Prize exhibition this year and instead it would ask the jury to select 10 artists to receive bursaries. After 12 months visiting hundreds of exhibitions in preparation for selecting the nominees, the jury chose the artists for their significant contributions to new developments in British contemporary art. The artists are eligible for the Turner Prize in future.

The members of the 2020 jury were: Richard Birkett, Curator at Large at the Institute of Contemporary Arts; Sarah Munro, Director of BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art; Duro Olowu, designer and curator; and Fatoş Üstek, Director of Liverpool Biennial. The jury is chaired by Alex Farquharson, Director of Tate Britain.

Imran received a Jerwood Arts Solo Presentation in 2017 and was supported by the Jerwood/FVU Awards in 2018.

Imran Perretta, 15 days, 2018. Commissioned for Jerwood/FVU Awards 2018: Unintended Consequences. Installation View. Photo: Anna Arca.