April 12, 2022

Jerwood Arts alumni Heather Phillipson nominated for Turner Prize 2022

Heather Phillipson works across video, sculpture, sound, text and live events; splicing images, noises and objects from the digital and physical leftovers at hand. She is perhaps best known for her most recent work ‘The End’ 2020 for the Fourth Plinth in Trafalgar Square. 

TTTT featured a screen-based work by Heather that was experienced via a colourful sculptural viewing platform. The group exhibition, curated by Sarah Williams, responded to recent developments and concerns amongst artists who were exploring sculpture and screen-based practices in relation to language, technology, image dissemination, sentimentality and anxiety. 

Heather has since been involved with Jerwood Arts as an Artist Adviser including as a selector for the Jerwood Bursaries in 2019 and a nominator for Survey II in 2020, where she nominated artist Angharad Williams.   

The Turner Prize is awarded to a British artist for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the preceding year as determined by a jury. The four shortlisted artists for the Turner Prize 2022 are: 

  • Heather Phillipson 
  • Ingrid Pollard 
  • Veronica Ryan 
  • Sin Wai Kin 

The prize returns to Tate Liverpool in 2022 with a free exhibition of the nominees work from 20 October 2022 to 19 March 2023. The winner will be announced in December at an award ceremony in Liverpool. 

Heather is nominated for her solo exhibition RUPTURE NO 1: blowtorching the bitten peach at Tate Britain, London and her Fourth Plinth commission, THE END. Phillipson’s wide-ranging practice involves collisions of wildly different materials, media and gestures in what she calls “quantum thought experiments”. 

The members of the Turner Prize 2022 jury are: 

  • Irene Aristizábal, Head of Curatorial and Public Practice, BALTIC 
  • Christine Eyene, Research Fellow, School of Arts and Media, UCLan 
  • Robert Leckie, Director, Spike Island 
  • Anthony Spira, Director, MK Gallery 

The jury is co-chaired by Alex Farquharson, Director, Tate Britain and Helen Legg, Director, Tate Liverpool. 

This is the second year in a row that Jerwood Arts alumni have been nominated for the Turner Prize. Last year Array Collective, who were part of Jerwood Collaborate! in 2019 at Jerwood Space in London, went on to win the prestigious award.  

Find out more: 

Read about Jerwood Encounters: TTTT, here. 

Find out about the Turner Prize 2022, here. 

View our Artist Advisors, here. 

Jerwood Encounters: TTTT curated by Sarah Williams. Image: thisitomrrow.info