Jerwood Studio at Sadler’s Wells

Summer University

One of the first of its kind in the UK, Sadler’s Wells Summer University is a four year programme studying the art and craft of choreography. Between 2011 and 2014, a group of 15 choreographers with up to five years of professional experience spent two weeks together each year, discussing their choreographic and compositional processes and questioning how dance is made and what it might communicate to an audience. A four-year programme for emerging dance makers

This page was made some time ago and may contain information which is now out of date

The first edition of the programme was led by award-winning choreographer and author Jonathan Burrows and invited a range of expert guest speakers from arts and non-arts backgrounds to introduce new concepts and approaches.

The programme continues also supported by the Leverhulme Trust Arts Scholarship. The current selected chorographers are: Adrienne Hart, Alesandra Seutin, Alexandrina Hemsley, Antonio de la Fe, Charlotte Spencer, Dan Daw, Eva Recacha, James Cousins, Joe Moran, Katerina Paramana, Katye Coe, Kwame Asafo Adjei, Marquez & Zangs, Neil Callaghan, Nicola Conibere, Patricia Okenwa, Pepa Ubera, Stefan Jovanovic, Stephanie McMann and Theo Clinkard.

Sadler's Wells Jerwood Studio, Le Patin Libre 's Vertical Influences. Pictured: Samory Ba. Image: Alicia Clarke