Jerwood/FVU Awards “Tomorrow Never Knows”

Ed Atkins, Emma Hart, Naheed Raza, Corin Sworn

This page was made some time ago and may contain information which is now out of date

Four new moving-image works by early-career artists Ed Atkins, Emma Hart, Naheed Raza and Corin Sworn in response to the curatorial theme “Tomorrow Never Knows”.

The four artists were selected from a long-list of over 50 artists nominated by an expert panel. Each artist received a bursary of £4,000 and production support from FVU in order to develop pre-production proposals for new works. Ed Atkins and Naheed Raza received further commissions of £20,000 each to develop their proposals into full scale works. 

The Jerwood/FVU Awards are a major annual opportunity for moving-image artists run in partnership by Jerwood Charitable Foundation and FVU. They were established in 2012 in response to a need for significant major commissions for early-career moving-image artists at an unproven stage in their practice, and contribute to an ongoing dialogue around urgent or timely concerns within moving image through the curatorial theme, which changes each year. Alumni include Ed Atkins, Corin Sworn, Emma Hart and Marianna Simnett. 

Emma Hart, A Model for a Monument Unsaved, 2012. Image: