Performing Arts Micro Bursaries

The Performing Arts Micro Bursaries supported independent artists and producers with awards of between £250 and £1,000 for the making of new work, research, travel, training or mentoring.

This page was made some time ago and may contain information which is now out of date

The awards are for individuals who have been practicing professionally for no more than 10 years, have completed their formal education and are resident in the UK. We cannot accept applications for course fees or any associated study or living costs.

This fund has been created using legacy funds from the BBC Performing Arts Fund to provide individuals with direct support for their professional and creative development, without the expectation of a specific product output and/or public engagement. Grants are awarded in two rounds, and selections have now been made for the second round.

The BBC Performing Arts Fund existed to support emerging talent across the performing arts sector. The Fund awarded over £5m during the 12 years of its operation. On the Fund’s closure in 2016, and in line with its Charitable Deed of Trust, part of the remaining funds were transferred to Jerwood Charitable Foundation in order to continue its work in nurturing talent.

Artists awarded bursaries in the first round of the Performing Arts Micro Bursaries in 2017 were: Lucy Bradley, Ira Brand, Roxanne Carney, Rachael Clerke, Liz Counsell, Marivi da Silva, Daisy Douglas, Philip Douglas, Ellie Dubois, Helen Edwards, Sarah Emmott, Matthew Evans, Emma Frankland, Ruth Holdsworth, Vanessa Kisuule, Davide Levi, Zara McFarlane, Ronan McMahon, Nathan Penlington, Joshua Pharo, Lee Reynolds, Arron Sparks, Melanie Spencer, Xi Nan and Cécile Trémolières.

Artists awarded bursaries in the second round of the Performing Arts Micro Bursaries in 2018 are: Bex Anson, Tom Bailey, Camille Barton, Rose Biggin, Josie Canham-Williams, Kamala Devam, Eleanor Fogg, Olivia Furber, Lisa Hammond, Kate Lane, Lateisha Davine Lovelace-Hanson, David Lyttle, Nicholas Malcolm, Alice Malseed, Zinzi Minott, Olivia Norris, Emma Jayne Park, Ailie Robertson, Melanie Sanders, Michael Simon, Joshua Spear and Hayley Wareham.



Jazzlines Fellow Dan Nicholls. Photo: Jazzcamera