Jerwood Art Fund Makers Open 2021

Jerwood Art Fund Makers Open 2021 is a major award for five early-career UK-based artists and makers to develop and present ambitious new works.

The award offers a supported, high-profile national platform for artists and makers who are between one and ten years of beginning their professional artistic practice to take risks at a pivotal moment in their careers. It seeks to raise the profile and visibility of making processes within the visual arts and create a space for critical dialogue between the craft and visual arts sectors. 

Open to individuals, collaborations and collectives, we invite proposals for bold new work(s) using all forms of making and material experimentation. 

We welcome proposals from those working in all materials and progressive practices including but not limited to: ceramics, glass, jewellery, metal, paper, textiles, wood, fashion and sculpture.

CALL FOR ENTRIES: Jerwood Art Fund Makers Open 2021

There are five awards of £8,000 each plus curatorial and production support from the Jerwood Arts team to support the making of new work over a six month period for a group exhibition in London, followed by a three-venue national tour through to 2022 including Aberdeen Art Gallery, Scotland. 

The Jerwood Art Fund Makers Open 2021 selection panel of practicing artists, critics and curators will be: Dame Magdalene Odundo (Potter), Yinka Ilori (Artist, Designer), and Junko Mori (Artist, Maker in metal), Christine Rew (Art Gallery and Museums Manager, Aberdeen Art Gallery) and Harriet Cooper (Head of Visual Arts, Jerwood Arts). The panel will be chaired by Lilli Geissendorfer (Director, Jerwood Arts). 

Application is free, and the deadline is 5pm, Wednesday 26 August. 

Find out more and apply here.

This eighth edition launches a new collaboration with the Art Fund and partnership with Aberdeen Art Gallery, who will host the exhibition of the new commissions in autumn 2022.

Artists selected for Jerwood Makers open to date:

2019: Max Bainbridge and Abigail Booth (Forest + Found), Mark Corfield-Moore, Lucie Gledhill, Bethan Lloyd Worthington and Tana West.

2017: Marcin Rusak, Juli Bolaños-Durman, Jessica Harrison, Laura Youngson Coll and Sam Bakewell

2015: Zachary Eastwood-Bloom, Malene Hartmann Rasmussen, Jasleen Kaur, Ian McIntyre and Silo Studio

2014: Hitomi Hosono, Matthew Raw, Revital Cohen and Tuur Van Balen, Shelley James and FleaFollyArchitects

2013: Maisie Broadhead, Linda Brothwell, Adam Buick, Nahoko Kojima, Roanna Wells

2012: Nao Matsunaga, James Rigler, William Shannon, Louis Thompson and Silvia Weidenbach

2011: Farah Bandookwala, Emmanuel Boos, Heike Brachlow and Keith Harrison