Toggle description
Webb-Ellis, For The First Baby Born in Space, 2019. Commissioned for Jerwood/FVU Awards 2019: Going, Gone. Installation view at Jerwood Space. Photo: Anna Arca

Jerwood/FVU Awards

A major commissioning initiative for early-career moving image artists, in partnership with Film and Video Umbrella.

The Jerwood/FVU Awards are a major annual commissioning opportunity for moving-image artists within five years of beginning their practice and were launched in 2011 in partnership with FVU. The Awards support early career moving-image artists and focus on practical, developmental support where the nurturing of ideas and expertise is consolidated by substantial production opportunities. They are selected by a specialist panel through a national open call in response to a changing curatorial theme for each edition. Two artists each receive £25,000 and full production support from FVU over a 10-month period to make significant new works for a national touring exhibition.

We launched this initiative in partnership with FVU in response to a need for significant major commissions for early career moving-image artists, who are at an unproven stage in their practice. It contributes to an ongoing dialogue around urgent or timely concerns within moving-image through the curatorial theme and commissioned works. This, and the element of risk in working with artists who are at an early stage in their practice, sets the Awards apart from other opportunities in the field.

The Jerwood/FVU Awards are a collaboration between Jerwood Arts and Film and Video Umbrella. FVU is supported by Arts Council England.

Please visit the Jerwood/FVU Awards website for up to date information on awardees and exhibitions.

Artists selected for the Jerwood/ FVU Awards to date:

2020: Hindsight. Commissions: Guy Oliver and Reman Sadani

2019: Going, Gone. Commissions: Webb-Ellis and Richard Whitby

2018: Unintended Consequences. Commissions: Maeve Brennan and Imran Perretta

2017: Neither One Thing or Another. Commissions: Patrick Hough and Lawrence Lek

2016: Borrowed Time. Commissions: Karen Kramer and Alice May Williams

2014-15: What Will They See of Me? . Commissions: Lucy Clout and Marianna Simnett. Shortlist: Kate Cooper and Anne Haaning

2012-13: Tomorrow Never Knows. Commissions: Ed Atkins and Naheed Raza.,Shortlist: Emma Hart and Corin Sworn