April 12, 2016

Four new Jerwood Opera Writing Fellowships at Aldeburgh Music announced

This page was made some time ago and may contain information which is now out of date

The 2-16/17 Jerwood Opera Writing Fellowships are:

Micky’s Chippy – composer Jesse Jones, writer Richard Scott, director Josh Armstrong

Blue Fire – composer Joel Rust and writer David Troupes 

Giant – composer Sarah Angliss and writer Ross Sutherland

The Devil in the Belfry – composer Tom Coult and writer Alice Birch

The Jerwood Opera Writing Programme at Aldeburgh Music, launched in 2007, is made up of two parts: Foundation and Fellowships. The Foundation is designed to give composers, writers and directors a grounding in creating new opera through a series of practical workshops and seminars.  Course leaders and guest tutors have included Giorgio Battistelli, Harrison Birtwistle, Alison Chitty, Patrick Dickie, Jonathan Dove, Lavinia Greenlaw, Stewart Laing, Stephen Langridge, Stephen Plaice and David Sawer amongst others.

Following a third round of the Jerwood Opera Writing Programme Foundation course, which ran through 2014/15, Aldeburgh Music invited applications for Jerwood Opera Writing Fellowships from composers and writers and their collaborators who want to develop a particular opera project for commission and performance.  Fellowships will give support during the development of a new opera by providing a collaborative, supportive environment, as well as financial and practical support and expertise, such as workshops and mentoring.

Britten Pears Arts website

Jerwood Aldeburgh Opera Writing Fellowships. Featured: Daniel Solon, Christopher Lemmings, David Sawer, Naomi Pinnock. Image: Matt Jolly