Jerwood Drawing Prize 2008

This page was made some time ago and may contain information which is now out of date

A total of 73 drawings are brought together in this group exhibition as part of the largest and longest running annual open exhibition for drawing in the UK.

The works were selected from more than 2,500 submissions by Tony Bevan, artist; Emma Dexter, Director of Exhibitions at Timothy Taylor Gallery and Editor of Vitamin D (Phaidon); and John McDonald, art critic at the Sydney Morning Herald.

Selected from original drawings, the Jerwood Drawing Prize has established a reputation for its commitment to championing excellence, and to promoting and celebrating the breadth of contemporary drawing practice. The exhibition provides a platform to showcase the work of UK-based drawing practitioners, from student to established, and as a project helps to define a wider understanding of the role and value of drawing in creative practice.

The four prize winners received unconditional cash prizes as follows: First Prize of £6,000 Warren Baldwin; Second Prize of £3,000 Lia Anna Hennig; and Student Awards of £1,000 each: Tobias Teschner and Aline von der Assen.

Jerwood Drawing Prize is supported by Jerwood Charitable Foundation through its contemporary gallery programme Jerwood Visual Arts. The 20th anniversary of the Jerwood Drawing Prize exhibition was celebrated in 2014, and in 2015 Jerwood Charitable Foundation marked 15 years of its support for the prize.

Warren Baldwin, Study for Portrait V, 2008. Image: courtesy of the artist